“Lisa Sanders is a paragon of the modern medical detective storyteller. The tales here crackle with suspense. But what sets her apart is her Holmes-like eye for the clues—and her un-Holmes-like compassion for those who suffer.”

—Atul Gawande, author of Better: A Surgeon’s Notes on Performance and Complications

“If you need to be reminded that there are still diseases that can’t be cured in an hour—including commercial breaks—then this book is for you. Fantastic stuff.”

—Hugh Laurie

“A doctor’s insightful reflections on the disconnect between how physicians should practice and how they actually practice… Fans of Jerome Groopman and Atul Gawande will appreciate this first collection by another astute observer of the medical profession.”

—Kirkus Reviews